'Sparky' Wade Heads Basketball Early Years Team

LSU Celerates 100 Years of Basketball
LSU Celerates 100 Years of Basketball
LSUsports.net (@LSUsports)
LSUsports.net (@LSUsports)
LSU Sports Interactive

BATON ROUGE -- LSU’s first basketball All-American, Malcolm “Sparky” Wade, heads the 10-player LSU Basketball early years team as part of the school’s upcoming 100th anniversary of the first intercollegiate basketball game played by the Tigers.

The early years team (players from 1909-1939), joins the selection of all-star teams from each of the decades from the 1940s forward that took place during Southeastern Conference play during the 2007-08 season. With the 10 players from the early years team, a total of 81 players are now eligible for the vote for the LSU All-Century team that will begin on Oct. 1.

LSU will celebrate its 100th anniversary of its first intercollegiate sanctioned college basketball game on the weekend of Jan. 30-31 with a giant player reunion dinner on Jan. 30 followed by the present day Tigers playing on Jan. 31 on a day that will also include several alumni player festivities both on and off court and the announcement of the All-Century team.

Wade was part of the 1935 mythical National Championship team coached by Harry Rabenhorst that won a special challenge game in Atlantic City, the American Legion Championship Game, against Pittsburgh.  LSU won the game, 41-37. Wade was All-SEC in 1934 and 1935 and was the school’s first All-American. He was part of a six-year string of LSU players setting the young league’s scoring record.

Other members on that 1935 team on the early years team including Buddy Blair (1933-35), Arnold “Judge” Bryan and Jack Harris.

The remainder of the team includes W. R. “Ray” Edmonds who played in 1916-17 and 1921-22; Bob Jones (1924-26), All-Southern Intercollegiate stars Leslie Garahan (1927-30) and C. C. Garrison (1927-28; 30-31, Jack Torrance (1931-34) and Conley Hathorn (1935-38).

Early Years Team (1909-1939)

Buddy Blair 1933-35 Member National Championship team; All-SEC 1933, 1934; Second in SEC scoring, 1934

Arnold “Judge” Bryan 1935-37 1936 SEC scoring record of 207 points; 1937 SEC leading scorer marking sixth straight year someone from LSU led the league in scoring.

W. R (Ray) Edmonds 1916-17; 1921-1922 Leading scorer in 19717; Earned high scoring honors in almost every game he played

Leslie Garahan 1927-30 All-Southern Intercollegiate, 1930 (first player to earn that honor)

G. C. Garrison 1927-28; 1930-31 All-Southern Intercollegiate, 1931

Jack Harris 1932-35 1933 All-SEC

Conley Hathorn 1935-38 All-SEC in 1938

Bob Jones 1924-26 three-year starter, always one of the top two scorers on the team.

Jack Torrance 1931-34 All-Southern Intercollegiate, 1932.

Sparky Wade 1932-35 LSU’s first All-American, 1935; Led SEC in scoring three years. “Little Giant from Jena” was the dribbling leader of the LSU team that won the mythical national championship in 1935.




LSU Online - Video Portal Tile
Men's Basketball
Will Wade Press Conference
Sep. 23
Men's Basketball
Skylar Mays Press Conference
Sep. 23
Men's Basketball
Look Back: MIKEY Awards
Aug. 26