Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
Golf Channel College Golf 101
Golf Channel Dominant Teams, Players, Programs
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 07/05/2019
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C.—This past spring the Golf Channel produced a three-part series called College Golf 101 where they ranked college golfs top 10 elite programs, top 10 dominant players and top 10 teams for men’s and women’s golf.

The Duke women’s golf program, led by head coach Dan Brooks, was prominent with all three episodes.

In ranking the top 10 dominant men’s and women’s golfers over the history, Duke standout Amanda Blumenherst was No. 6. As a freshman, she won her first collegiate event, played her first nine rounds at Duke at even or under par and placed in the top 10 in her first 32 events of her collegiate career. Blumenherst was the first NCAA golfer to win three straight NCAA National Player of the Year honors, won 12 collegiate events and placed in the top 10 in 37 tournaments.

The elite programs ranking had the Blue Devils at No. 4 with Duke claiming the 1999, 2002, 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2014 NCAA Championships. Over the last 20 years, the Blue Devils have also won 15 ACC titles, had four NCAA individual champions, won 107 events and featured 14 ACC individual champions. Duke and Arizona State were the only women’s programs represented in the top 10.

Duke’s squads from 2004-05, 2005-06 and 2006-07 that three-peated winning the NCAA Championships three straight years was No. 4 as well. These three teams made Duke the second women’s program in NCAA history to win three straight NCAA titles. Over the three seasons, the Blue Devils won 22 tournaments, three NCAA titles and three ACC titles.


Top Teams
10. Oklahoma State Men (2017-18)
9. Augusta State Men (2009-11)
8. Clemson Men (2002-03)
7. Texas Men (1970-72)
6. Alabama Men (2012-14)
5. Wake Forest Men (1973-75)
4. Duke Women (2004-07)
3. Arizona State Women (1992-95)
2. Oklahoma State Men (1975-78)
1. Houston Men (1967-70)

Dominant Players
10. Jack Nicklaus, Ohio State
9. Annika Sorenstam, Arizona
8. Gary Hallberg, Wake Forest
7. Juli Inkster, San Jose State
6. Amanda Blumenherst, Duke
5. Tiger Woods, Stanford
4. David Duval, Georgia Tech
3. Lorena Ochoa, Arizona
2. Phil Mickelson, Arizona State
1. Ben Crenshaw, Texas

Elite Programs
10. San Jose State Women
9. Stanford Men
8. Texas Men
7. Florida Men
6. Southern California Women
5. Wake Forest Men
4. Duke Women
3. Arizona State Women
2. Oklahoma State Men
1. Houston Men