NEWPORT NEWS, Va. – Saint Joseph’s Senior Associate Athletic Director and Senior Woman Administrator (SWA) Renie Shields and Assistant Athletic Director for Compliance Ken Krimmel are two of nine new Atlantic 10 Conference appointments to the NCAA Presidential Forum and national committees. 

Now in her 26th year with the Hawks’ athletic program, Shields was named to the Committee on Women’s Athletics. Shields has led SJU through transformational periods of expansion and growth in the athletic department and the University. Additionally, she has chaired numerous A-10 committees including the SWAs and Women’s Basketball Administrative Committee. As a three-sport star for SJU in basketball, cross-country and softball, Shields is a member of the Hawks’ Hall of Fame.

Starting his 12th year at Hawk Hill, Krimmel was named to the Student Records Review Committee. Krimmel, who works alongside Shields, served as the assistant director of educational support services for seven years before moving into a role in compliance.

Dayton President Dr. Eric F. Spina will begin serving on the NCAA Presidential Forum, the primary advisory entity to the NCAA Division I Board of Directors.  Dr. Spina is in his third year at the University of Dayton and under his leadership UD’s athletic program has flourished, including the completion of a $72 million total renovation of historic UD Arena. In addition to his administrative experience, he is a mechanical and aerospace engineer with 20 years of research experience. Dr. Spina holds two U.S. patents and has published over 30 papers. Spina replaces Davidson President Dr. Carol Quillen, who represented the A-10 on the Forum for the last four years.

Davidson Athletic Director Chris Clunie was appointed to a four-year term on the NCAA Men’s Basketball Rules Committee. Now in his second year as athletic director, Clunie previously worked for 10 years for the NBA in a variety of roles including overseeing domestic and international operations and major events. As a former student-athlete at Davidson, Clunie played for current Coach Bob McKillop, who currently serves on the NCAA Men’s Basketball Competition Committee which is focused on the “state of the game."

George Washington Athletic Director Tanya Vogel was selected to serve on the Division I Men’s Soccer Committee, replacing Saint Louis’ D’Ann Keller who previously represented the A-10. Vogel has been the athletic director at The George Washington University for two years, having previously served on the senior management team at GW. An experienced administrator, Vogel has served on numerous A-10 and NCAA committees. She played soccer and served as the head women’s soccer coach at GW and was the first Colonials’ women’s soccer player to be inducted into the GW Athletics Hall of Fame.

Massachusetts Faculty Athletic Representative Dr. Spencer was named to the NCAA Research Committee. Dr. Spencer is a published and award-winning professor in UMass’ Psychological and Brain Sciences department.  Her current focus is on the functions of sleep, for which she holds a pair of NIH R01 awards and has over 60 publications. As Chair of the A-10 Faculty Athletic Representatives, Dr. Spencer brings a wealth administrative experience to the NCAA Research Committee.

Duquesne’s Mike Scerbo was named to the Women’s Lacrosse Committee. Scerbo was the Dukes’ women’s lacrosse coach for 11 years before joining their administrative staff one year ago. He was a member of the NCAA Division II Women's Lacrosse Committee and played a vital role in the development of the NCAA Division II Women's Lacrosse National Tournament, which debuted in 2001. 

Fordham Senior Associate Athletic Director and SWA Djenane Paul was appointed to the NCAA women’s basketball advancement committee. A member of Fordham’s senior staff overseeing NCAA governance and compliance, Paul previously served in a similar position at VCU.  She also represents Fordham on the A-10 women’s basketball administrative committee.

Erik Janss, a La Salle baseball student-athlete, was selected to represent the Atlantic 10 on the Division I Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC). A right-handed senior relief pitcher from Gaithersburg, Md., Janss also represented the A-10 at the NCAA Leadership Forum in December of 2017. He is a two-time member of the Atlantic 10 Commissioner’s Honor Roll.

“The A-10 is fortunate to have outstanding presidents, administrators, coaches and staff willing to serve in the NCAA governance process,” states Atlantic 10 Commissioner Bernadette V. McGlade.  “As a conference, we are committed to participating in legislative matters and providing a voice at the national level on all matters affecting intercollegiate athletics. I also want to thank outgoing representatives Dr. Michael Rao, who was a member of the NCAA Board of Directors and Dr. Carol Quillen, the A-10’s Presidential Forum representative for their service.”