Lobo Club
Lobo Skiing Hands out Honors at End of Year Banquet
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  04/07/2015

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. --- After a terrific 2015 season that saw the Lobos finish fifth in the NCAA and be the only program in the nation with a pair of national champions, head coach Fredrik Landstedt put a bow on the season at the Lobo Skiing Awards Banquet, held at the Hotel Albuquerque.

Taking home MVP honors on the women’s side were a pair of NCAA champions in Emilie Cedervärn for women’s Nordic and Meteja Robnik for women’s Alpine.  Cedervärn, who set a school record with five wins in a season, and four in a row, won the NCAA title in the 15K Classical.  Robnik earned her third and fourth All-America honors, and won the NCAA title in the Giant Slalom.

Robnik’s MVP Award is her third straight in women’s Alpine, making her only the second Lobo skier in the last 25 years to earn three straight MVP awards, behind Malin Hemmingsson, who won four from 2007-10.

On the men’s side, Juho Pekka Penttinen was the men’s Alpine MVP.  Penttinen, a senior, qualified for his first NCAA championships this past season.  Mats Resaland was the Nordic MVP on the men’s side.  He picked up his first career victory, winning his final home race, the 10K freestyle at the Jade Enterprises/UNM Invitational.  Resaland is the fifth three-time winner of the men’s Nordic MVP Award, and the first since Martin Kaas 2009-11.

Christian Otto, who was injured and missed last season, returned as a graduate student and qualified for his fourth NCAA championships, finishing in the top 15 in both races.  He was honored with the 2015 Senior Award.

Other award winners were Mark Miller, who won the Ben Abruzzo Scholarship Award, and Sydney Staples, who won the Pat Abruzzo Acholarship Award.