Article Image
The 49ers announced their 2016 schedule.
Courtesy: Charlotte Sports Information
View Photo
Nationally-Ranked 49ers Announce 2016 Schedule

Charlotte, NC – The nationally-ranked Charlotte 49ers men’s soccer program, which has made two trips to the College Cup and 11 appearances in the NCAA Tournament including five straight appearances, will play nine teams that made the 2015 NCAA Tournament in their challenging 2016 schedule.

“We are excited to announce our 2016 schedule,” said Charlotte coach Kevin Langan, who is entering his fifth season at the helm of the 49ers program. “Once again it will be a wonderful challenge for us and August can't come quick enough. In addition to playing in one of the premier soccer conferences in the country we will also face seven out of conference opponents who have reached the NCAAs in the past two seasons."

Charlotte begins their 2016 season with two exhibition games. First, the 49ers play Belmont at Transamerica Field, Tuesday, August 16. Then, the 49ers conclude the exhibition part of their schedule with a road game at 2015 NCAA Tournament participant Elon, Saturday, August 20.

Charlotte begins the regular-season with four straight games at Transamerica Field. The 49ers play 2015 NCAA Tournament participant Hofstra in their season-opener, Monday, August 20. Then, the 49ers play UCF at home, Friday, September 2. Charlotte concludes the season-opening four game home stand with games against 2015 NCAA Tournament participants Rutgers, Sunday, September 4 and Coastal Carolina, Tuesday, September 13.

The 49ers play their next two games on the road. First, Charlotte travels to Old Dominion for their Conference USA opener, Saturday, September 17. Then, the 49ers play UNC Wilmington on the road, Tuesday, September 20. Charlotte returns to Transamerica Field for their Conference USA home opener against 2015 NCAA Tournament participant FIU, Saturday, September 24. The 49ers conclude the month of September with a road match at 2015 NCAA Tournament participant Winthrop, Tuesday, September 27.

Charlotte begins the month of October with a Conference USA road game at 2015 NCAA Tournament participant Kentucky, Saturday, October 1. Then, the 49ers return home for a Conference USA match against New Mexico, Saturday, October 8. Charlotte then plays 2015 College Cup Finalist Clemson on the road, Tuesday, October 11. A week later, the 49ers play another ACC foe Virginia Tech on the road, Tuesday, October 18. Charlotte returns to Transamerica Field for a Conference USA match against UAB, Saturday, October 22. The 49ers return to the road with a Conference USA match against 2015 NCAA Tournament participant South Carolina, Wednesday, October 26. Charlotte ends the month of October with a game at Transamerica Field against Conference USA foe FAU, Saturday, October 29.

The 49ers play their final regular season home game against Appalachian State, Tuesday, November 1. Charlotte concludes the regular-season on the road at Conference USA foe Marshall, Friday, November 4. The 49ers will return to Huntington, West Virginia for the Conference USA Tournament which begins on Wednesday, November 9.

For ticket information, contact the 49ers ticket office at 704-687-4949.