Article Image

Campbell, Chigges Highlight Charleston Baseball Hall of Fame Class

          Release: 07/26/2016
Print RSS
Share |
Related Links

CHARLESTON, S.C. – Former College of Charleston Baseball All-Americans Chris Campbell (Jacksonville, Fla.) and Nick Chigges (Columbia, S.C.) highlight the Charleston Baseball Hall of Fame’s Class of 2016 as announced on Tuesday.

They are joined by former Charleston Mayor Joseph P. Riley, Jr., Charleston RiverDogs president emeritus Mike Veeck and broadcaster Ted Byrne.

Campbell, Chigges and Byrne were selected by fan voting, while Riley and Veeck were chosen by the Charleston Baseball Hall of Fame Committee.

The five, which represent the largest class in the 14-year history of the Charleston Baseball Hall of Fame, will be enshrined prior to the RiverDogs’ home game against the Columbia Fireflies on Thursday, Aug. 25, which is slated for 7:05 p.m. (ET) at Joseph P. Riley Jr. Park.

A second baseman who played for CofC from 2004-07, Campbell ranks as the program’s all-time leader in games played, hits, doubles and RBIs. In 2007, he led the nation in RBIs per game (1.41), while in 2005, his 87 RBIs ranked second all-time in Southern Conference history behind CofC’s Matt Leeds’ mark of 88. In addition, Campbell’s 290 career RBIs are tied for first in SoCon history, while his 355 career hits are tied for second in the league record books.

He was the 2004 SoCon Freshman of the Year, while earning First Team All-SoCon honors in 2005 and second team all-conference accolades in 2004, 2006 and 2007. In 2005, Campbell was named an ABCA First Team All-American, Baseball America Second Team All-American and Collegiate Baseball/Louisville Slugger Third Team All-American. He was selected for the Collegiate Baseball Freshman All-America Team in 2004. Campbell helped Charleston to three NCAA Regional appearances and a Super Regional berth in 2006.

A two-time Southern Conference Pitcher of the Year for the Cougars from 2004-07, Chigges earned first team all-conference accolades twice in 2006 and 2007. Named co-MVP of the 2006 SoCon Tournament, he garnered second team Collegiate Baseball/Louisville Slugger and NCBWA All-America honors in 2006 and second team ABCA All-American recognition in 2007. He had a 31-5 career record and a .861 winning percentage, and when he finished, the 31 wins ranked first all-time at CofC and fifth in SoCon history.

Chigges was named to the 2006 NCAA Lexington Regional All-Tournament Team after a complete-game, 13-strikeout performance in CofC’s win over Ball State in the semifinals. A 2004 member of Collegiate Baseball’s All-America Freshman Team, Chigges was drafted by the New York Yankees and played for the 2008 Charleston RiverDogs.

Campbell and Chigges were both inducted to the CofC Baseball Wall of Fame in 2012. The duo was part of CofC's most successful baseball class, winning regular-season SoCon championships in 2004, 2005 and 2007, while bringing home the SoCon Tournament championship title in 2006. The Cougars made back-to-back NCAA Regional appearances in 2004 and 2005 and advanced to a NCAA Super Regional in 2006. In their four-year careers, Campbell and Chigges led the Cougars to an overall record of 180-67 (.729).



Ted Byrne

Chris Campbell

Nick Chigges

Mayor Joseph P. Riley, Jr.

Mike Veeck


Pete Ayoub

John Chalus

Lee Curtis


Reese Havens

David Hoffman

Billy Swails, Jr.


Steven Jackson

Drew Meyer

Britt Reames


Gettys Glaze

Tom Hatley

John Rhodes


Bill Ackerman

Roberto Alomar

Mike Kimbrell


Lee Glaze

Fred Jordan

D.K. Walters

Kenny Wilkinson


John Dodds, Jr.

W.S. “Bull” Durham

Donald Morillo

Doug Pounder


Bryce Florie

Danny Jones

Charley Smith

Richard Wieters


1955 Cannon Street YMCA All-Star Team

1990 Citadel World Series Team

Anthony Jenkins

Modie Risher


Ty Cline

Mike Cook

Gary McJunkin

Chal Port


John Candelaria


David Cone


Willie Randolph

Gorman Thomas