Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Nebraska's Five National Titles

By NU Athletic Communications

Nebraska football owns one of the richest championship traditions in college football history, capturing five national championships. The Huskers won back-to-back crowns in 1970 and 1971, before winning titles in 1994, 1995 and 1997.

Since 1970, Nebraska has won more games than any other team in the country by a wide margin, and captured five national titles. The Huskers have also played in a bowl game for a national championship on four other occasions. Nebraska is one of only three schools to win five national titles in football since 1970, and the Huskers are one of only seven teams in college football history to capture at least three crowns.

For more complete information on Nebraska's national championships, click on the link to each one of the seasons listed below.

National Titles (since 1970)

  • Alabama - 10
  • Nebraska - 5
  • Miami - 5
  • Oklahoma - 4
  • USC - 4
  • Florida - 3
  • Notre Dame - 3
  • Florida State - 3
  • Ohio State - 3


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub