The 2015 Huskers won the program's 10th national title
Photo by None

Nebraska Bowling History and Records

By NU Athletic Communications

  Nebraska Bowling History & Records

In its 21 years as a varsity sport, Nebraska has become one of the top programs in the nation. Nebraska Coach Bill Straub has guided the Huskers to unprecedented success, winning 10 national championships, including five NCAA titles since capturing the inaugural crown in 2004.

Once bowling became an NCAA-sanctioned sport in 2003, the Huskers won back-to-back titles in 2004 and 2005 and captured another in 2009. The Huskers again added to their trophy case in 2013. After a runner-up finish in 2014, the Huskers stormed to their nation-leading fifth NCAA crown in 2015, behind National Tenpin Coaches Association Player of the Year Lizabeth Kuhlkin and NCAA Championship Most Valuable Bowler Julia Bond.

With 106 tournament titles in 217 competitions through the 2018-19 campaign including national championship tournaments, Straub has created a dynamic foundation for success for Nebraska bowling. With a world-wide approach to recruiting, Nebraska bowlers have been well-represented in national and international competitions.

Under Straub, 14 Husker bowlers have qualified for their national teams, including U.S. National Team members Shannon Pluhowsky, Diandra Asbaty (Hyman), Brenda Edwards, Kayla Johnson, Elise Bolton, Lizabeth Kuhlkin and most recently Julia Bond. Recent Huskers Danielle van der Meer (Netherlands), Valerie Calberry (Canada), Shalima Zalsha (Indonesia), Tan Yan Ling (Singapore), Andrea Ruiz (Colombia), Bethany Hedley (England) and current Husker Alexandra Mosquera (Colombia) have also represented their home countries on the international level.

While the Husker team accomplishments have been paramount, numerous bowlers have also enjoyed individual success. NU has had at least one All-American in each of the last 26 years, dating back to the bowling club program days. Since 1989, 33 Huskers have combined for a total of 72 All-America awards, while Kim Berke (1992), Diandra Hyman (2000), Shannon Pluhowsky (2001, 2004, 2005), Lindsay Baker (2006), Amanda Burgoyne (2007), Cassandra Leuthold (2010) and Lizabeth Kuhlkin (2015) were each chosen as the National Collegiate Bowler of the Year.

Straub has been a visionary in the sport of college bowling, championing the sport through its club program days and was a natural to become Nebraska's first varsity head coach in 1997. The first year was historic in several respects, but most important was granting of the first full scholarship in the sport's history to Jennifer Daugherty, who went on to earn first-team All-America honors in both 1998 and 1999.

College bowling has experienced rapid growth in recent seasons, as nearly 80 schools competed in the 2018-19 season. In 2002, the NCAA announced that bowling would become an NCAA-sanctioned sport, and legislation was approved on April 24, 2003, allowing for the first NCAA Championship in the spring of 2004. Since the NCAA Championship was initiated, NU has captured the title five times in 2004, 2005, 2009, 2013 and 2015 giving NU 10 national crowns in the sport.

In the 16 seasons that the NCAA has sanctioned bowling, Nebraska is the only program to have qualified for the NCAA Championship in every season.

Most recently, the Nebraska bowling team was crowned the 2015 NCAA champions at Tropicana Lanes in St. Louis, Mo. The Huskers defeated Stephen F. Austin, 4-2, for the crown. Bond was named the Most Valuable Bowler at the NCAA Championships, while Kuhlkin joined Bond on the all-tournament team.

Nebraska's 2015 NCAA Championship Team
2013 National Champs
Nebraska's 2013 NCAA Championship Team

2009 National Championship

 Nebraska's 2009 NCAA Championship Team


Nebraska's 2005 NCAA Championship Team



More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub