Photo by None

Miramontez Named to MAC Hermann Watch List

By NU Athletic Communications

Senior defender Sinclaire Miramontez earned a spot on the 2019 Women’s MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List, announced by the United Soccer Coaches on Thursday.

Miramontez, a Lenexa, Kan., native, is one of 57 student-athletes named to the watch list. She has received first-team All-Big Ten honors during each of the last two seasons after claiming a spot on the Big Ten All-Freshman Team in 2016. Miramontez is a two-time All-Region selection, making the first team in 2018 after achieving second-team status in 2017.

Miramontez enters her senior campaign having started 58 games over the last three seasons. The leader of NU’s defense, Miramontez also has three career goals and one career assist.

Last season, Miramontez started each of the first 17 games, helping NU to six shutouts, before suffering a season-ending injury on Oct. 18 at Wisconsin. She tallied two goals en route to helping Nebraska qualify for the Big Ten Tournament after tying for fifth in the conference standings.

Miramontez started all 19 games in 2017 and played nearly every second as the Huskers produced eight shutouts and never allowed an opponent to score more than two goals in a game. She notched one goal and one assist during the 2017 campaign.

As a freshman in 2016, Miramontez started all 22 games and ranked third on the team in minutes played (2,088). The Huskers recorded 11 shutouts and qualified for the NCAA Tournament.

The MAC Hermann Trophy, a 10-pound crystal soccer ball awarded annually since 1967, honors the United Soccer Coaches National Players of the Year in NCAA Division I men’s and women’s soccer based on voting conducted by NCAA Division I coaches.

On Dec. 3, the Hermann Trophy committee narrows down the watch list to 15 semifinalists. That list is voted on by NCAA Division I coaches and the top three vote getters are tabbed as finalists, announced on Dec. 13. The winner is announced at the United Soccer Coaches awards banquet on Jan. 10 at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis, Mo.


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub