Frank Sevigne founded the Husker Track & Field Officials Association in 1976
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Husker Track & Field Officials Association

By NU Athletic Communications

In the fall of 1976, Frank Sevigne founded the Husker Track Officials Association from a group of men and women who regularly volunteered their time to officiate Nebraska track meets. Since the club’s formation, the members have displayed superb organizational talent at the following meets: Russian vs. American Junior meet, USATF Junior Olympics meets, Husker Invitational meets, 19 Big Eight indoor and outdoor championship meets, the inaugural Big 12 Indoor Conference Championship meet, 8 Big 12 Indoor championships and the 2007 Big 12 Outdoor Conference Championships, 2003 and 2008 NCAA Midwest Regional Championships, The first ever combined Big Ten Indoor Conference Championships, Big Ten Outdoor Conference Championship, 5 NAIA Indoor National Championships, 2014 NCAA DIII Indoor National Championships, Nebraska regular-season meets, Lincoln Track Club and local high school meets.

The Executive Committee includes the officers of the club, Nebraska track coaches and all former Husker track officials association past presidents. Past presidents include: Alex Czeranko, Patrick Campbell, Hollis Anderson, Forrest Doling, Duane Eversoll, Frank Karnes, Ralph King, Jim Kopetka, Mike Maryott, Jim McLaughlin, George O’Boyle, Al Papik, Tom Bassett, Bob White, Glen Moss, and Russ White. This year’s officers are Mike Maryott, president; Lisa Greathouse, vice president; Mike McPherson, secretary/treasurer. All head officials and a large majority of the assisting officials (87 percent) are USA Track & Field certified.

Nearly each year since 1985, distinguished members of the Husker Track Officials Association have been named to the Nebraska Officials Hall of Fame during the annual Frank Sevigne Husker Invitational.

Nebraska Officials Hall of Fame
2016- Russ White, Ruth White 
2015- Alex Czeranko, Bob White
2014- Glenn Neemann
2013- Lynn McBride, Tom Murray
2012- Tom Becker, Albert Maxey
2011- None
2010- John Barthule, Jack Brittenham
2009- Fritz Moss, Scott Hayman
2008- None
2007- Jean Colbert, Ken Lefever
2006- Patrick Campbell,
Jack Ferrin
2005- Don Marx, Dick O’Meara
2004- Ross Greathouse; Mike McPherson; Steve Morrison
2003- Hollis Anderson; Tom Bassett; Lynn Lightner
2002- Harold Chaffee; Chelys Hester; Mike Maryott
2001- No Husker Invite
2000- None
1999- None
1998- Forrest Doling; Butch Hug; Vic Michel
1997- None
1996- Anne Cech; Kenneth G. Dicke
1995- George Barlowl; Jerry Barret; Duane Eversoll
1994- Russ Hueston; George O’Boyle
1993- Al Papik; George Sullivan
1992- Don Bryant; Warren Millnitz
1991- Clarence E. Mitchell; Bill Shepard; Ed Weir
1990- Jim McLaughlin; Ray Smith
1989- Max R. Hester; Robert Lund
1988- M.G. "Mutt" Volz
1987- Bernard "Bun" Galloway; Frank L. Karnes Jr.
1986- None
1985- Frank Sevigne; Woody Greeno

Track & Field Officials Association 2015 Service Award Winners

Elroy Bartels
Elroy became a USA Track & Field certified official in 1999. After working high school meets and attending his children’s track meets, it was only natural to volunteer his services.

It was exciting for Elroy to follow his granddaughter, Ashley Selig, a former Husker national champion and member of the Lincoln Youth Track Club. Selig went on to represent Team USA at the World Youth Championships in Debrecen, Hungary in 2001. While following her career, Elroy worked many meets in Omaha, Sacramento and Buffalo.

Elroy says: “Seeing and meeting many of the athletes worldwide was interesting. We were very happy Ashley decided to attend Nebraska, and we followed her excellent career. After 42 years in the postal service, I was happy to retire and follow Nebraska sports. Go Big Red!”

Vernon Breakfield
Vernon was born in Omaha, Neb., and is a 1981 graduate of Omaha Burke High School. He graduated from Doane College in 1985 with a Bachelor’s degree in business administration. He was an all-conference sprinter on the Doane track and field team.

Currently a claims adjuster for Progressive Insurance Company, Vernon started as an official in 1993 at the Nebraska High School State Track & Field Championships. In 2002, Vernon was given the opportunity to be a Division I starter on the recommendation of Al Papik. He has been a starter for the Husker Track and Field Officials Association ever since. He has started at the Big 12 Indoor and Outdoor Championships and is also a Division I college football official for the Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC).

Coaches, athletic directors and parents alike have commented that they love to see Vernon as the starter of a meet because of his professionalism, his fairness as the starter and his care and concern for the athletes. Workers at meets also comment to the meet directors that Vernon makes the meet a pleasure to work.

Vernon says: “My family, wife Linda of 26 years and daughter Jazmon (23), are my biggest supporters and have allowed me to do what I have done for the last 30 years in officiating. Thank you, Linda and Jazmon.”

Past Service Award Winners
2015- Elroy Bartels, Vernon Breakfield
2014- Bev Barthule, Mark Neemann
2013- Jancie Murray, John Ferrin
2012- Lisa Greathouse, Jay Schluckebier, Rinehart Kruse
2011- J.C. Kuxhausen, Dan Parker
2010- Lori Vick, Brian Hayman
2009- Doug Haggart, Dean Gilbertson
2008- Dave Greathouse, Tim Renz
2007- Tom Becker;
Mike Williams
2006- Tom Murray; Jayne Snyder
2005- Lynn McBride, Glenn Neemann, Rich Soukup
2004- Steve Beideck;
Steve Larson; Roger Ogea
2003- Marv Haase; Larry Hergott
2002- Forrest H. Doling; Luis Guzman; Sandy Maryott; Albert W. Maxey Sr.
2001- No Husker Invite
2000- Fritz Moss; Bob White
1999- Alex Czeranko; John Barthule
1998- Jack Brittenham; Patrick Campbell; Don Cumpston
1997- Jan Colbert; Scott Hayman; Ken Lefever
1996- Jack Ferrin; W.H. Wagner; Mike McPherson
1995- Harold Chaffee; Virgil Ferguson; Steve Morrison
1994- William Cole; Terry Crum; Ross Greathouse
1993- Bob Cottingham; Lynn Lightner; Dick O’Meare
1992- Ryron Boslau; Butch Hug; Mike Maryott
1991- Bob Chadwick; Russ Loerch; Vic Michel
1990- Rob Armagost; Ken Dicke; Donald Marx
1989- Tom Bassett; Vern Johnson; Wes Rosenstock
1988- Hollis Anderson; George Barlow; Bob Eberly
1987- Anne Cech; Jim Kopetka; Mike McNair
1986- G.L. Barret; Duane Eversoll; Al Papik
1985- Larry Anderson; Woody Greeno; Russ White
1984- Russ Huetson; George O’Boyle
Prior to 1984–Bernard Galloway; Max Hester; Frank L. Karnes Jr.; Ralph King; Bob Lund
Jim McLaughlin; Clarence Mitchell Jr.; M.G. "Mutt" Volz


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub