Photo by None

Dick Spangler Golf Scholarship

By NU Athletic Communications

The Dick Spangler Golf Scholarship Award is presented at the end of each golf season to a sophomore or junior golfer, who has made significant contributions to the men's golf program through his attitude, effort and team spirit. The recipient will be selected by the Dick Spangler Scholarship Committee.

Dick Spangler earned three letters for the Nebraska golf team from 1950 to 1952, was a Nebraska Amateur champion and served on the board of the Trans-Mississippi Golf Association. Always a gentleman, his quick wit, enjoyable sense of humor and his dedication to the game of golf bring honor and credit to our University and the great game of life.

Dick Spangler was inducted into the Nebraska Golf Hall of Fame in 1997. He passed away on Saturday, Nov. 8, 2003 in Lincoln. He is survived by his wife, Bobbie, and sons and daughters-in-law Rich and Marga, Rus and Gail, and Bill and Alesia.

To contribute to the Dick Spangler Golf Scholarship Award, please contact Rich Spangler at

Recipients of the Dick Spangler Golf Scholarship
2017-18: Niko Vui
2016-17: Justin Jennings
2015-16: Nathan Wong
2014-15: Josh Reinertson
2013-14: Ryan Grassel
2012-13: Manuel Lavin
2011-12: Neil Dufford
2010-11: Jordan Reinertson
2009-10: Brandon Crick
2008-09: Brett Sundberg
2007-08: Trent Price
2006-07: Drew Reynolds
2005-06: Judd Cornell


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub