Joe Kirby (left) and Jacques van Rensburg (right) each earned All-America honors in 1988 and 1989.
Photo by None

Nebraska Cross Country History

By NU Athletic Communications

Nebraska has been a mainstay on the national scene since former Head Coach Jay Dirksen's arrived in 1983. Dirksen guided at least one Husker team to the NCAA Championships in 17 of his 29 seasons at Nebraska, including five years with both the men's and women's teams competing at nationals.

David Harris took over in 2012, bringing a wealth of knowledge to the program.

On the women's side, Nebraska has captured five conference crowns and four district titles. The Huskers have also placed among the top 12 teams at the NCAA Championships on five occasions, including back-to-back third-place finishes in 1988 and 1989.

Along with Nebraska's championship success on the course, the Huskers have been a leader in the classroom. An NU cross country team has earned Nebraska's Herman Award as the team with the highest cumulative grade-point average among all Nebraska athletic teams 12 times since 2000.

NCAA Championships History

Husker All-Americans
Women's History
 | Men's History

Regional/District History

All-Region Selections
Women's History | Men's History

Conference History

All-Time All-Conference Selections
Women's History | Men's History


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub