Article Image
Courtesy: Ashley Huss, WMU Photographer

Thomas Wilder Named Second Team All-MAC

Courtesy: Kristin Keirns, associate director of athletic media relations
Release: 03/07/2016
Print RSS

CLEVELAND, Ohio - Today the Mid-American Conference announced the All-MAC First Team, Second Team, Third Team and Honorable Mention selections for the 2015-16 season. The teams were voted on by the league's 12 head coaches. The league's All-Freshman Team and All-Defensive team were also announced today.

Sophomore point guard Thomas Wilder was honored from Western Michigan as a Second Team selection. Wilder led the league in scoring during MAC games from start to the finish, concluding conference play with a 20.4 ppg average, slightly higher than Toledo’s Nathan Boothe at 20.3 ppg.

Wilder also had a conference-best 2.1 steals per game during league action. In all games combined, Wilder averaged 18.6 ppg, which was second most in the MAC, and averaged 4.3 rebounds per game. He totaled 98 assists and 52 steals. Last year as a freshman he averaged 7.2 ppg.

Wilder got to the free throw line more times than any other player in the MAC this season. In all games combined, he was 188-for-238 (79.0%) at the line and was the only player to shoot 200-plus FTs. Jaaron Simmons from Ohio had the next most attempts, going 139-for-181. The trend continued during MAC play, where Wilder shot a league-high 135-for-170 (79.4%) and was one of only three players to attempt more than 100 FTs.
Men's First Round MAC Tournament action takes place tonight as No. 8 Eastern Michigan hosts No. 9 Toledo, No. 7 Northern Illinois hosts No. 10 Western Michigan, No. 6 Ball State hosts No. 11 Miami & No. 5 Kent State hosts No. 12 Bowling Green. For more information on the 2016 MAC Men's Basketball Tournament presented by – CLICK HERE.
All-MAC First Team
Isaiah Johnson, C, Akron
Chris Fowler, G, Central Michigan
Jimmy Hall, F, Kent State
Antonio Campbell, C, Ohio
Nathan Boothe, F/C, Toledo
All-MAC Second Team
Reggie McAdams, F, Akron
Franko House, F, Ball State
James Thompson IV, C, Eastern Michigan
Jaaron Simmons, G, Ohio
Thomas Wilder, G, Western Michigan
All-MAC Third Team
Lamonte Bearden, G, Buffalo
Blake Hamilton, W, Buffalo
Braylon Rayson, G, Central Michigan
Marin Maric, C, Northern Illinois
Jonathan Williams, G, Toledo
Honorable Mention
Antino Jackson, G, Akron
Spencer Parker, F, Bowling Green
Raven Lee, G, Eastern Michigan
Eric Washington, G, Miami
Geovonie McKnight, G, Miami
All-Freshman Team
Josh Williams, G, Akron
CJ Massinburg, G, Buffalo
James Thompson IV, C, Eastern Michigan
Marshawn Wilson, G, Northern Illinois
Jordan Dartis, G, Ohio
All-Defensive Team
Franko House, F, Ball State
Willie Conner, W, Buffalo
Tim Bond, F, Eastern Michigan
Khaliq Spicer, C, Kent State
Aaric Armstead, G, Northern Illinois