Green, Canady Earn All-State Honors

April 16, 2009
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

April 16, 2009

NORFOLK, Va. - The Virginia Sports Information Directors Association (VaSID) released the 2008-09 Women's Basketball University Division All-State team Thursday with senior center Tiffany Green (Chesapeake, Va.) earning Second Team All-State honors and junior forward Jessica Canady (Williamsburg, Va.) picking up Honorable Mention status.

Green, a First Team All-CAA selection, ranked seventh in the CAA in scoring (13.7 ppg), fourth in the league in rebounding (8.9 rpg) and blocks (1.8 bpg), and was seventh in the conference in field goal percentage (.475). She scored in double figures in 23 of 29 games and posted 10 double-doubles. Green is third all-time in the CAA in career blocked shots (199), 19th all-time at ODU in career scoring (1,398) and seventh all-time at ODU in career rebounding (990).

Canady jumped into the starting line-up this season to ranked second in the CAA in rebounding (9.6 rpg) and ninth in the league in scoring (12.6 ppg). The 6-0 junior forward posted double figures in 13 games and recorded seven double-doubles. Additionally, Canady was fifth in the conference in steals (2.3 spg) and ranked eighth in the conference in field goal percentage (.470).

Liberty's Megan Frazee and Virginia's Monica Wright were named VaSID Co-Players of the Year, while VCU's Beth Cunningham was named VaSID Coach of the Year and Liberty's Avery Warley earned Rookie of the Year honors.

The 2008-09 VaSID University Division Women's Basketball team was voted upon by sports information directors at colleges and universities throughout the Commonwealth.

All-State teams are selected by active members of the Virginia Sports Information Directors Association. For more information, please visit the VaSID site at

First Team All-State
Dawn Evans, James Madison
Megan Frazee, Liberty
Quanitra Hollingsworth, VCU
Lyndra Littles, Virginia
Monica Wright, Virginia

Second Team All-State
Tiffany Benson, William & Mary
Utahya Drye, Virginia Tech
Tiffany Green, Old Dominion
Aisha Mohammed, Virginia
Brittani Shells, Richmond

Honorable Mention
Radoslava Bachvarova, VCU
Lindsay Biggs, Virginia Tech
Jessica Canady, Old Dominion
Moriah Frazee, Liberty
Taleia Moton, Radford

Co-Player of the Year: Megan Frazee, Liberty
Co-Player of the Year: Monica Wright, Virginia
Coach of the Year: Beth Cunningham, VCU
Rookie of the Year: Avery Warley, Liberty