Iupati joins 2009 Walter Camp class
Courtesy: Idaho Athletic Media Relations
          Release: 01/16/2010
Print RSS

NEW HAVEN, CT. - University of Idaho senior guard Mike Iupati, a consensus All-American, was honored Saturday night along with 24 college football players by the Walter Camp Football Foundation as 2009 All-Americans at a banquet that also included former Denver Bronco quarterback John Elway's recognition as the group's Man of the Year.

Joining Iupati on the offense were receivers Jordan Shipley (Texas) and Golden Tate (Notre Dame); tight end Dennis Pitta (BYU); linemen Russell Okung (Oklahoma State), Mike Johnson (Alabama) and Trent Williams (Oklahoma); center Maurkice Pouncey (Florida); quarterback Colt McCoy (Texas); running backs Toby Gerhart (Stanford) and Mark Ingram (Alabama), and kicker Kai Forbath (UCLA). McCoy also was is the 2009 Walter Camp Player of the Year.

Defensively, the team is linemen Ndamukong Suh (Nebraska), Jerry Hughes (Texas Christian), Terrence Cody (Alabama) and Gerald McCoy (Oklahoma); linebackers  Rolando McCain (Alabama), Brandon Spikes (Florida) and Eric Norwood (South Carolina), and the secondary is Eric Berry (Tennessee), Earl Thomas (Texas), Joe Haden (Florida) and Taylor Mays (USC).

The punter is Drew Butler of Georgia and the return specialist is  C.J.Spiller (Clemson). The coach of the year is TCU's Gary Patterson.