Fans Select Infielders, Catchers to All-Alex Box Team

Todd Walker was among the selections
Todd Walker was among the selections (@LSUsports) (@LSUsports)
LSU Sports Interactive

BATON ROUGE -- Five former LSU catchers and 11 former Tiger infielders were selected by fans for the All-Alex Box Stadium “Omaha Era” Team. The fans’ choices were announced during Saturday’s game between LSU and Mississippi State in Alex Box Stadium.

Fans also voted online to select outfielders and pitchers for the squad. The names of the outfielders were announced during Friday’s LSU-MSU game, and the pitchers will be revealed during the series finale on Sunday.

The “Omaha Era” team is composed of former Tigers who played at LSU from 1984 to the present. The selection of the squad coincides with LSU’s final season in 70-year-old Alex Box Stadium. Sunday’s contest will be the last regular-season game in the venerable facility.

Following are the catchers and infielders selected by the fans for the “Omaha Era” team:
Brad Cresse, C * Seal Beach, Calif. (1997-2000)
Tim Lanier, C * Baton, Rouge, La. (1993-96)
Matt Liuzza, C * Metairie, La. (2003-06)
Mike Bianco, C * Seminole, Fla. (1988-89)
Gary Hymel, C * Baton Rouge, La. (1988-91)

Todd Walker, 2B * Bossier City, La. (1992-94)
Eddy Furniss, 1B * Nacogdoches, Texas (1995-98)
Warren Morris, INF * Alexandria, La. (1994-96)
Blair Barbier, INF * Harvey, La. (1997-2000)
Wally Pontiff, INF * Metairie, La. (2000-02)
Mike Fontenot, 2B * Slidell, La. (2000-01)
Ryan Theriot, SS * Baton Rouge, La. (1999-2001)
Russ Johnson, SS * Denham Springs, La. (1992-94)
Aaron Hill, SS * Visalia, Calif. (2001-03)
Brandon Larson, SS * San Antonio, Texas (1997)
Brad Hawpe, 1B * Fort Worth, Texas (1999-2000)



LSU Online - Video Portal Tile
Skip Bertman Statue Dedication
Sep. 16
Skip Bertman Statue Dedication
Sep. 14
Look Back: MIKEY Awards
Aug. 26